Jury and Awards


Mandy Chang
Mandy is the commissioning editor of Storyville, the BBC’s pioneering global feature documentary strand. She is from a film‑making background, and herself has brought award‑winning films to public television viewers, both as a commissioner (at ABC Arts) and filmmaker. She is a passionate advocate of public service broadcasting with its remit to support independent, diverse and creatively authored storytelling for audiences.

Mariam Chachia
Documentary film director and producer. In 2014, she founded the production company OpyoDoc, whose first film, Listen to the Silence, premiered in DOK Leipzig 2016 and won the Golden Dove in the Next Masters competition. She has been working as a tutor for documentary film development, and was invited to EurasiaDoc scriptwriting residencies, CineDoc, People in Need and iDocs Beijing. Teaches documentary film at the Georgian Institute of Public Affairs.

Raúl Camargo
Scholar and film curator. Joins the programming team at the Valdivia Film Festival in 2007, becoming its director in 2014. Jury member at several festivals, including Mar del Plata, Karlovy Vary, Márgenes Madrid, Olhar de Cinema, Rio de Janeiro, Transcinema, Ficunam and Documenta Madrid. Wrote articles for specialised media such as La Fuga, Fuera de Campo and Hambre Cine. Teaches Film History at the Chile and Austral Universities.

Adicional Juror for the RTP Award:

José Navarro Andrade
Film curator since 1988 at Cinemateca Portuguesa, SIC, Canais TVCine and RTP1. Used to be a film critic. Co-author of the RTP2 programme Muito Barulho para Nada.



RTP Award
for Best Project in the editing or First Cut Stage – acquisition of the television rights for Portugal and the Portuguese‑speaking African countries (PALOP) by RTP: 25 000€ for feature‑length films and 15 000€ for short films.

Winner: The Dependents, Sofia Brockenshire (Canada/Argentina)

McFly Award
Special Arché Jury Award for a Project in the editing or First Cut Stage – 7000€ in post‑production services at McFly – Sound Production and Films.

Winner: Every Document of Civilization, Tatiana Mazú (Argentina)

Selina Award
for Best Project in the Writing or Development Stage – 15 to 30-day artistic residency at Selina locations in Portugal through the Artist Nomad Passport.

Winner: Gentlewomen, Cláudia Alves (Portugal)

for best project in Arché by NOVA / FCSH – 1000€.

Winner: Night Tears or the End of Innocence, Miguel Moraes Cabral (Portugal)